Adult from Kigoma
Tropheus duboisi from Kigoma, Lake Tanganyika [Tanzania] in the aquarium.拍攝者 Ad Konings. 鑑定者 Ad Konings


Cichlidae

亞科
Pseudocrenilabrinae


Haplochromini


Tropheus

狀態
有效


文章管理員

發表:

最後更新情形:
28- 5月-2010

Tropheus duboisi Marlier, 1959


翻譯員: Heng Kuang Liao (24- 2月-2012)

最初命名為 Tropheus duboisi:

ZooBank:AB4B7D82-7543-43F4-9172-3E85C13A3C09.

  • Marlier, G.. 1959. "Observations sur la biologie littorale du Lac Tanganyika". Revue de Zoologie et Botanique Africaines. pp. 164-183 (crc00236)

命名歷史:

產地國:

語意說明: 本種是專指J. Dubois,G. Marlier的協力者。.

物種判斷: Tropheus duboisi不同於其他所有Tropheus魚種之處是藉由牠較窄的,圓的,中置型的嘴(對上方型,下彎且寬的嘴)。不同之處還有牠的色彩花紋:成魚為藍頭黑身,在胸部有著寬或窄的白到黃色橫帶,而幼魚則為黑色並有數排白色斑點。.

體型尺寸: 進口個體全長可達14公分,在水族箱中有時候會超過15公分。雌魚通常比雄魚稍微小一些.

性別二型性: 在不同性別間的色彩花紋並無差別但雄魚通常可長得比雌魚稍大一些。.

模式產地: Memba,坦甘伊克湖,剛果.

分佈: 已知它們的族群數量相對較低。唯一的剛果沿岸族群是來自模式產地(Bemba)。在東岸,本種可從北到南發現,在Nyanza-Lac,Kigoma,Halembe和Karilani都有。又稱為"Maswa" duboisi的個體,表現出最寬最黃的橫帶,是來自Halembe和其周遭地區。.

產地: Cape Kabogo (坦尚尼亞, undefined), Halembe (坦尚尼亞, 原生的), Hapa Ingii Fara Village (坦尚尼亞, undefined), Karilani Island (坦尚尼亞, 原生的), Kigoma (坦尚尼亞, 原生的), Luagala Point (坦尚尼亞, undefined), Maswa (坦尚尼亞, 原生的), Mkuyu Point (坦尚尼亞, undefined), Pasagulu Point (坦尚尼亞, undefined), Pemba (剛果民主共和國, 原生的).

棲地: 棲息在岩岸,在那裏通常會被演化程度更高的moorii類型表親排擠而被迫往更深的水域(可深到30公尺,通常則在6-10公尺最多)且為較不喜歡的沉積物豐富的地區。.

食性: 攝食自岩石上的藻類生物層(周叢生物群)且是用比其他Tropheus較無效率的方法,因為牠的嘴較窄且較沒有朝下,因此會增加牠的身體與基質的角度。.

繁殖: 如本屬其他成員,Tropheus duboisi是雌魚口孵繁殖類型且產卵數相當低(通常6-20顆)。在代償作用下,珍珠狀的卵是本科之中最大的一種(長徑7mm),而使牠們生下相當大且發育良好的幼魚,孵育其基本上是3週,但通常持續更多週的時間(超過10週),在這段期間子魚不時會被母魚釋出在庇護區且子魚可能在母魚口中進食。雄魚不會參與親魚的照顧且通常在產完卵後立刻就將雌魚逐出,在在水族箱中,雄魚可能會容許雌魚在他領域週遭附近出現。.

飼養原則: 雖然他的明顯型態差異和在天然棲地中較低的族群密度,Tropheus duboisi在水族箱中與其表親並無顯著不同。在水族箱中,所有Tropheus魚種的雄魚都傾向於護衛牠們自己的領域,而線性階級只在過度擁擠的小缸中才能見到。為了能觀察在水族箱中觀察到牠們的天然行為,Tropheus必須以數隻雄魚和雌魚為一小群的方式在大缸中(至少500公升,但最好1000公升以上)與其他 tropheines族像是PetrochromisSimochromis混養。在較小的缸中,除非缸子是太過擁擠,否則牠們的致死攻擊傾向通常會導致所有亞優勢雄魚和雌魚被肅清。在一些例子中,當雌雄配得好時,他們會維持單一對,這種狀態會維持數月甚至數年之久。

水族箱的水質應有強力過濾維持,鹼性硬水(ph 8.2),水溫範圍約23-26°C。這些魚必須節制給予食物,因為牠們對於腸道問題非常敏感。如本屬其他成員,Tropheus duboisi常會去咬混養對象的鰭,特別是當他們小時候,因此有時會減少得很明顯而使那些魚鰭的延長變得很難看。.

保育: Tropheus duboisi 被評鑑為國際自然保育聯盟瀕危物種紅皮書名單中的 (VU) 易危的 (2006). 這種侷限範圍的魚種對水族貿易帶來的過度開發是相當敏感的;其"Maswa"型據說已經過度撈捕且不常出現在進口名單中。.

評論: 考慮到牠窄而接近中置型的嘴,且比Tropheus moorii類型特化程度較低,Tropheus duboisi可能是本屬最原始的魚種。雖然與Tropheus sp. 'black' 有一些色彩的相似性(黑色體色與體側有寬橫帶),Tropheus duboisi表現出特別的幼體色彩花紋(黑色有白斑點)。這種幼年的色彩在性成熟時會消失,而本屬其他成員在順從的個體身上則仍能表現出幼年體色(特別是雌魚)。

Tropheus duboisi也可能是唯一完全沒有臀鰭眼斑的tropheine族魚種—本屬其他成員則是簡化但仍然可見。

橫帶的寬度是隨個體的不同而有變化,有些甚至在身體的一邊和另一邊都會有明顯的不同,而有些個體則完全沒有橫帶。不幸的是,來自Halembe的"Maswa" duboisi,正是因為表現出最寬且最黃的橫帶而讓自己成為受害者,雖然來自其他地區有著純白橫帶的個體也是值得鑑賞的。.

引用文獻 (1):

  • Marlier, G.. 1959. "Observations sur la biologie littorale du Lac Tanganyika". Revue de Zoologie et Botanique Africaines. pp. 164-183 (crc00236)

外部目录: Catalog of Fishes, Encyclopedia of Life, FishBase, ZooBank.

引語:

Tawil, Patrick. (五月 28, 2010). "Tropheus duboisi Marlier, 1959". Cichlid Room Companion. 檢索 九月 15, 2019, 來自: https://cichlidae.com/species.php?id=158&lang=zh.

Adult from Kigoma
Tropheus duboisi from Kigoma, Lake Tanganyika [Tanzania] in the aquarium.Photo by Ad Konings. determiner Ad Konings

Family
Cichlidae

Sub-family
Pseudocrenilabrinae

Tribe
Haplochromini

Genus
Tropheus

Status
valid


Curator

Published:

Last updated on:
28-May-2010

Tropheus duboisi Marlier, 1959


Original description as Tropheus duboisi:

  • Marlier, G.. 1959. "Observations sur la biologie littorale du Lac Tanganyika". Revue de Zoologie et Botanique Africaines. pp. 164-183 (crc00236)

Nomenclature history:

Inhabited countries:

Etymology: The species is dedicated to Jean Dubois, a chemist and collaborator of Georges Marlier.

Diagnosis: Tropheus duboisi differs from all others Tropheus by its narrower, rounded, sub-terminal mouth (vs. squarish, down-turned and broad). Differs also by its color patterns: blue head and black body in adults, with a more or less broad white to yellowish band on the chest, and black with rows of white dots in juveniles. 5 spines in anal fin.

Size: Up to 14 cm total length in imports, sometimes more than 15 in aquarium. Females usually slightly smaller than males.

Sex dimorphism: There is no difference in the color pattern between the sexes but males usually grow a little larger than females.

Type locality: Memba, Lake Tanganyika, Congo.

Distribution: A comparatively low number of populations is known. The only congolese population comes from the type locality (Pemba). On the eastern coast, the species is found, from north to south, at Kigoma, Maswa, Cape Kabogo, Halembe, and Karilani Island. The so-called "Maswa" duboisi, which shows the broadest and most yellowish band, comes from the area between Maswa and Halembe.

Localities: Cape Kabogo (Tanzania, undefined), Halembe (Tanzania, native), Hapa Ingii Fara Village (Tanzania, undefined), Karilani Island (Tanzania, native), Kigoma (Tanzania, native), Luagala Point (Tanzania, undefined), Maswa (Tanzania, native), Mkuyu Point (Tanzania, undefined), Pasagulu Point (Tanzania, undefined), Pemba (Congo, Democratic Republic, native).

Habitat: Inhabits rocky shores, where it is usually pushed down by its more evolved congeners of moorii type to deeper layers (up to 30 m, usually more abundant between 6-10 m) and less favorable sediment-rich areas.

Feeding: Feeds from the rock algal bio-cover (aufwuchs) which is torn off the substrate in a less efficient fashion than in other Tropheus, since the mouth is narrower and less down-turned, thus increasing the angle between the body and the substrate.

Breeding: As other members of the genus, Tropheus duboisi is a maternal mouth-brooder which produces a rather low egg number (usually from 6-20). In compensation, the pear-shaped eggs are among the largest in the family (7 mm in the longest diameter), giving birth to rather large and well developed young. The incubation period is basically four weeks, but often continues during several more weeks (up to 10), during which the young are released from time to time by the mother in sheltered areas or may feed inside their mother's mouth. The male does not take any part in the parental care and usually chases the female immediately after spawning, but in the aquarium, may tolerate her in the immediate surrounding of his territory.

Aquaristics: Despite its marked morphological differences and lower population density in the natural habitat, Tropheus duboisi does not differ markedly from its congeners in the aquarium. In the aquarium, males of all Tropheus species tend to defend their own territory, while linear hierarchies are found only in case of overcrowded small tanks. In order to observe their natural behavior in the aquarium, Tropheus must be kept in small groups of several males and females in a large tank (at least 500 l, preferably 1000 l or more) together with other tropheines such as Petrochromis or Simochromis. In smaller tanks, their vicious attacks on subordinates usually lead to the eradication of all smaller males and females, unless the tank is markedly overcrowded. In some cases, when the sexes fit well together, they may be kept as a single pair, a situation which may last several months or years.

The water of the aquarium must be powerfully filtered, hard and alkaline (pH 8.2), with a temperature range around 23-26°C. These fishes must be given mainly ballast-rich foods, as they are very sensitive to intestinal diseases. As for all members of the genus, Tropheus duboisi tend to pick at the fins of its tankmates, especially when young, thus sometimes reducing considerably the fin's extensions to unsightly ruffles.

Conservation: Tropheus duboisi is evaluated by the international union for the conservation of nature in the iucn red list of threatened species as (VU) vulnerable (2006). This restricted range species is rather sensitive to over exploitation for the aquarium trade; the "Maswa" form is reputedly over fished, and is less often available in the imports.

Comments: Considering its narrow sub-terminal mouth, less specialized than in Tropheus moorii types, Tropheus duboisi is probably the most primitive species in the genus. Despite some resemblance in coloration with Tropheus sp. 'black' (black pattern with a broad band on the body), Tropheus duboisi shows a peculiar juvenile color pattern (black with white dots). This color pattern is lost with sexual maturity, while other members of the genus are still able to show juvenile coloration in submissive individuals (especially females).

Tropheus duboisi is also probably the only tropheine with a complete loss of anal ocelli —they are reduced but still visible in other members of the genus.

The width of the vertical band is variable from one individual to another, some of them even show considerable differences from one side to another, while some other individuals lack it completely. Unfortunately, the "Maswa" duboisi from Halembe, which shows the broadest and most yellowish band is victim of its success, though specimens from other locations with pure white bands are worth the value.

References (1):

  • Marlier, G.. 1959. "Observations sur la biologie littorale du Lac Tanganyika". Revue de Zoologie et Botanique Africaines. pp. 164-183 (crc00236)

Citation:

Tawil, Patrick. (May 28, 2010). "Tropheus duboisi Marlier, 1959". Cichlid Room Companion. Retrieved on September 22, 2018, from: https://www.cichlidae.com/species.php?id=158.