Cichlid Room Companion

Tribe Ectodini

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis Boulenger, 1901:來自深水域的珍珠

作者 , 2006.
最後更新情形 17- 2月-2006

Thomas Andersen, 2005

翻譯員: Heng Kuang Liao (04-12月-2012)

描述:

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis是由Boulenger在1901年用捕捉自Kibwesi的個體所描述,該地在坦尚尼亞境內,位於坦干伊克湖中部的東岸。X. ornatipinnis容易與其他Xenotilapia屬魚種區別之處是在他非常陡斜的前額與位於頭部高處非常大型的橢圓形眼睛

Male in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis是以非常陡的前額和非常大的橢圓形眼睛為其特徵。在此展示的是張雄魚的側面像拍攝者Thomas Andersen.鑑定者Thomas Andersen.

性別二型性發達;雄魚有黑和黃色邊裝飾的漂亮背鰭,在鰭的前半部有淺紅色的斑點。臀鰭同樣有黃邊還有白色寬帶,會依光線照射的角度,而有不同的紅色閃爍光彩。尾鰭分岔且末端為尖型並有黃色與白色寬帶,且腹鰭有者透明的藍白色色彩;胸鰭是透明的。雄魚的銀白色體側上有六排交替的橫帶;那是三排黃色和三排閃著彩虹光芒的斑點所組成的橫帶,彩虹斑給了身體一個全身珍珠般的外觀。

雌魚沒有雄魚漂亮的色彩,只有全身銀白色的色彩,在背鰭上還有5-7個不明顯的黑斑。

Adult female in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis雌魚在水族箱中。雌魚和雄魚的區別是在牠們全身銀白的色彩和在背鰭上有一排不明顯的黑斑點的存在拍攝者Ad Konings.鑑定者Ad Konings.

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis是相當大的Xenotilapia屬魚種且雄魚可能會到13公分的體全長,而雌魚則較短一些。牠是全湖域分佈且已知沒有地理變異種。

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis在野外的狀況…..

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis在坦干伊克湖中的生活所知不多,且就我所知尚未有顯示牠在天然棲地中的照片曾被發表過。目前知道的是多數個體是在深水域以拖網被捕獲,有些可深至不可思議的160公尺深度(525英呎),但在非常淺的5公尺深的水域的採集也曾有被記錄過(Poll 1956)。這種深度分佈的大跨度很可能是日遷移的表現,一如在Trematocara屬魚種身上所紀錄到的(Konings 2003)。

Adult male in aquarium

在水族箱中炫示的Xenotilapia ornatipinnis雄魚。拍攝者Ad Konings.鑑定者Ad Konings.

在一隻115 mm長的個體的消化道測量結果顯示出有約90 mm長度相當短的消化道,暗示牠是肉食性,且胃容物的調查實際上也發現除了沙粒和泥之外,還有橈腳類,介形蟲和昆蟲幼蟲(Poll 1956)

Poll也提到所捕捉到的Xenotilapia ornatipinnis個體長度明顯有差別且總結出其生殖與週期無關,而可能是整年都會產生(Poll 1956)。

當我們看到其大眼睛時顯然是在深水處生活的適應結果,且可能雄魚體側銀白色線條也是一種適應結果,因為牠們可能是做為辨識標記讓雌魚可在深又暗的水中能發現牠們的配偶(Konings 1998).

…..與在水族箱中的狀況

幸好在水族箱中對Xenotilapia ornatipinnis的行為所知比在湖中多很多。牠第一次是以X. sp. "Burundi"名義在1990年(Eysel 1990)被出口到歐洲且大概也在同一時間抵達美國(Smith 1992)。

在水族箱中Xenotilapia ornatipinnis會變成一種相當平靜的魚種;炫示的雄魚只會驅趕,但不會彼此騷擾或傷害。水族箱底部應由一層細砂組成且在開闊沙區之間應放小岩石以做為領域邊界。岩石應為光滑的溪石 – 這樣才沒有銳利的邊緣! 水族箱底部應不要小於120 x 50 公分的大小(3.90 x 1.65 英呎)。在缸中這樣的空間可能可容納約6-7隻個體的一小群魚。有一隻以上的雄魚是合適的 – 如果僅維持一隻雄魚,牠會很少表現牠真正的色彩。因為X. ornatipinnis是肉食性所以應餵以冷凍食物像豐年蝦,劍水蚤,糠蝦和孑孓與小塊的切碎的蝦子。牠是以典型的沙棲性魚種的方式來攝食,就是藉由含一口沙後過濾與吞下出可食的,再經由嘴和鰓來排出沙子。

Male in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis雄魚在水族箱中濾沙的情形拍攝者Thomas Andersen.鑑定者Thomas Andersen.

理想的混養對象是一些平靜且在水層中游動的魚種像Paracyprichromis nigripinnisP. brieni。如果水族箱夠大,也可以加入一對雙親共同口孵的Xenotilapia屬魚種一種。

Most schooling species of the genus 多數Xenotilapia屬的群體性魚種在水族箱中有時會有神經質的反應,而X. ornatipinnis也不例外。為了不要驚嚇到這些魚,在接近水族箱時動作應悄悄進行;特別是如果魚在夜晚受干擾牠們會有非常神經質的反應且驚慌,會試圖跳出水族箱外或撞上石頭或水族箱玻璃而傷到自己。這些慈鯛的捕捉和運送也是不容易的事情且須防備不要傷到他們的大眼睛;所以這些魚必須迅速捉起且在網中的時間一定要盡可能維持在最少。

Male in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis雄魚在水族箱中的特寫 - 注意眼睛上的寬黑帶,那不是產卵就是攻擊情緒的記號拍攝者Thomas Andersen.鑑定者Thomas Andersen.

繁殖

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis是一種母魚口孵繁殖魚種當他們達約5公分的長度時就可以區分性別,因為雄魚的色彩在此時已能見到。雄魚會佔據一個小型領域但沒有以巢做可見的標記,一如其他沙棲性的種類。雄魚彼此炫示且對每一隻經過的雌魚炫示,試圖引誘雌魚產卵並驅離其他雄魚。雄魚會有濃烈的色彩且眼睛上的黑帶會浮顯出來。如果一隻雄魚引誘到一隻雌魚,他們就會彼此繞圈而雌魚最後會產下數顆卵,然後卵便很快受精也很快被雌魚含入口中。雌魚在釋出仔魚前會孵育卵約18天;沒有進一步的繁殖照顧曾被報導過。仔魚應餵以剛孵化的豐年蝦,冷凍水蚤和劍水蚤。

Male in aquarium

口孵中的Xenotilapia ornatipinnis雌魚拍攝者Thomas Andersen.鑑定者Thomas Andersen.

結論

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis是一種令人讚嘆的濾沙魚種,如果給牠正確的飼養條件牠會以牠漂亮的炫示和有趣的行為來回報牠的飼主,讓人確信他的確是來自深水域的珍珠!

引用文獻 (6):

引語:

Andersen, Thomas. (二月 17, 2006). "Xenotilapia ornatipinnis Boulenger, 1901:來自深水域的珍珠". Cichlid Room Companion. 檢索 十二月 07, 2019, 來自: https://cichlidae.com/section.php?id=131&lang=zh.

Cichlid Room Companion

Tribe Ectodini

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis Boulenger, 1901: The Pearl from the Deep

By , 2006.
Last updated on 17-Feb-2006

Thomas Andersen, 2005

Description:

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis was described by Boulenger in 1901 using specimens caught at Kibwesi, Tanzania, on the central east coast of Lake Tanganyika. X. ornatipinnis can easily be distinguished from other species of Xenotilapia by having a very steep forehead and some very large oval eyes placed high on the head.

Male in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis is characterized by a very steep forehead and very large oval eyes. A profile of a male is here shown Photo by Thomas Andersen. Determiner Thomas Andersen.

Sexual dimorphism is well developed; the male has a beautiful dorsal fin adorned with a black and yellow margin, and a light reddish spot in the anterior part of the fin. The anal fin likewise has a yellow margin with a broad white band, which depending on the angle of the light hitting it, sparkles in different reddish colors. The caudal fin is forked with pointed lobes and is colored with broad yellow and white bands, and the ventral fins have a clear whitish blue color; the pectoral fins are clear. The males’ silvery colored flanks are lined with six alternating vertical bands; three yellow and three consisting of sparkling iridescent spots, the latter gives the body an overall pearly appearance.

The females does not have the males beautiful colors, but have an overall silvery coloration, with 5-7 indistinct black spots in the dorsal fin

Adult female in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis female in the aquarium. Females are distinguished from males by their overall silvery coloration and the presence of a row of indistinct black spots in the dorsal fin Photo by Ad Konings. Determiner Ad Konings.

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis is a rather large Xenotilapia and males may acquire a total length of 13 cm, while the female stays a little shorter. It has a lake-wide distribution and no geographical variants are known.

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis in the wild…..

Not much is known of the life of Xenotilapia ornatipinnis in Lake Tanganyika, and to my knowledge no picture has ever been published that shows it in its natural habitat. What is known is that most individuals have been caught in trawls in deep water, some down to a depth of incredible 160 meter (525 feet), but collection in much shallower water at a depth of 5 meter has also been recorded (Poll 1956). This great span in depth distribution could very well be a expression of daily migrations, as has been documented in species of the genus Trematocara (Konings 2003).

Adult male in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis displaying male in the aquarium. Photo by Ad Konings. Determiner Ad Konings.

Measurements of the digestive tract in a 115 mm long individual showed a rather short tract with a length of app. 90 mm, indicating a carnivorous diet, and investigations of the stomach content has in fact also revealed Copepods, Ostracods and insect larvae, besides sandgrains and mud (Poll 1956)

Poll also mentions that the length of the caught individuals of Xenotilapia ornatipinnis varies considerably and concludes that reproduction is not related to a periodic cycle, but probably is carried out at all the times of the year (Poll 1956).

The adaptation to a life in the deep are obvious when one sees the large eyes and quite possible are the silvery lines on the flank of the males an adaptation as well, as they properly serve as a recognition mark to enable females to find their mates in the deep and dark water (Konings 1998).

…..and in the aquarium

Fortunately more are known of the behavior of Xenotilapia ornatipinnis in the aquarium than in the Lake. It was first time exported to Europe under the name of X. sp. "Burundi" in 1990 (Eysel 1990) and arrived in the US as well at app. the same time (Smith 1992).

In the aquarium Xenotilapia ornatipinnis turns out to be a rather calm species; displaying males will only chase, but never harass or damage each other. The bottom of the aquarium should consist of a layer of fine sand and between the open sandy sections small rocks should be placed acting as territory boundaries. The stones should be smooth and water rolled – no sharp edges here! The bottom of the aquarium should be no less than 120 x 50 cm (3.90 x 1.65 feet). In a tank with this volume it is possible to contain a small group of approximately 6-7 individuals. It advisable to have more than one male – if just one male is being held, he seldom shows his true colors. As X. ornatipinnis is a carnivore it should be feed with frozen food like artemia, cyclops, mysis, black mosquito larvae and small chopped up shrimps. It feeds in the typical sand-dweller fashion by taken mouthfuls of sand, filtering it and swallowing all eatable, and then expelling the sand again through the mouth and gills.

Male in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis male shifting sand in the aquarium Photo by Thomas Andersen. Determiner Thomas Andersen.

Ideal companions would be some calm free-swimming species like Paracyprichromis nigripinnis or P. brieni. If the aquarium is sufficiently large, a pair of one of the bi-parental Xenotilapia species could be added as well

Most schooling species of the genus Xenotilapia can at times react very nervously in the aquarium, and X. ornatipinnis are no exception. In order not to scare the fishes, approaching the aquarium should be done quietly; especially if the fishes are disturbed at night they could react very nervously and panic, trying to jump out of the aquarium or hurt themselves against stones or the glass of the aquarium. The capture and transport of these cichlids is also not the easiest thing and precaution should be taken not to damage the large eyes; the fish must be quickly caught and the time in the net should be kept at an absolute minimum.

Male in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis close up of a male in the aquarium - notice the broad black bar in the eye, a sign of either spawning or aggressive mood Photo by Thomas Andersen. Determiner Thomas Andersen.

Reproduction

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis is a maternal mouthbrooder which can be sexed when they reached a length of app. 5 cm as the colors of the males begin to be seen. The males occupy a small territory which is not marked visibly with a nest, as seen in other species sand-dwelling species. The males display for each other and every passing female, trying to lure the females to spawn while they chase other males away. The males get an intensified coloration and a black bar in the eyes will appear. If a male succeeds luring a female, they will circle around and the female will eventually place some eggs which are then quickly fertilized by the male and then quickly taken in by the female. The female broods the eggs for app. 18 days before the fry are released; no further brood care has been reported. Fry should be fed with newly hatched artemia, frozen bosmins and cyclops.

Male in aquarium

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis mouthbrooding female Photo by Thomas Andersen. Determiner Thomas Andersen.

Conclusion

Xenotilapia ornatipinnis is a stunning sand-sifter that if given the right conditions will reward its owner with its beautiful displaying and interesting behavior and for sure be the Pearl from the Deep!

References (6):

Citation:

Andersen, Thomas. (February 17, 2006). "Xenotilapia ornatipinnis Boulenger, 1901: The Pearl from the Deep". Cichlid Room Companion. Retrieved on May 19, 2019, from: https://www.cichlidae.com/section.php?id=131.