Julidochromis classifications - Gombe

Discussion about cichlids from Lake Tanganyika

Moderators: Troy, Thomas Andersen

Didgeridoo

Julidochromis classifications - Gombe

Post by Didgeridoo » Tue Jan 20, 2015 12:28 pm

For starters, I'm not an ichthyologist. I have no credibility whatsoever in the scientific field. I'm simply a fish artist and I keep fish.

Julidochromis have always been one of my favourites to keep. Jul.marlieri was the first cichlid I ever bred and their behaviour and look, reminds me of saltwater wrasses. I've always loved their complex pair bonding and luckily I've always had great success.

I've kept several species of Julidochromis over the years and I lump them into three categories:
-Jul.marlieri/regani -largest of the julies growing up to 6inches
-Jul.transcriptus/ornatus -dwarf julies
-Jul.dickfeldi -oddity, not like the others

In the first line I mentioned I'm a fish artist for a reason. I'm highly detail oriented and I noticed something with the mouth structure between each of the species. The three groups above are separated not only by size but if you look closely, there's a big difference in the actual structure of the mouth. Illustrated below shows the mouth structure with the colour and patterning of the fish taken away as to not distract. As you can see, the mouth structures of J.regani and J.marlieri are quite different from that of the latter three species. The middle illustration is Gombe.

I've heard and read a lot about the markings under the eye in the Gombe species. However, in a lot of individuals, the stripe under the eye is absent or not complete. Without concise evidence from pure, wild specimens, and genetic analysis, I don't see how this stripe constitutes enough evidence to lump it in with Jul. marlieri. See examples below of the colour variety in Gombe available in the hobby. The bottom photo is Ad Konings' photo of a wild specimen at Gombe.