Preview of May Program

Upcoming Events and Club News

Moderators: Jombi21, TheFishGuy, Don Danko, tankmates, LewC, Hilary, IThinkFast

LewC

Preview of May Program

Post by LewC » Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:12 am

In order to give OCA members an earlier look at our upcoming meeting program, I'm going to start posting a version of my "Program Preview" column hear each month. I hope you find it helpful.

Ted Judy, this month’s speaker, has been keeping and breeding fish for over 25 years. He is a generalist who works with just about any family of freshwater fish available in the hobby. He has a special interest in fish from West Africa, with a focus on dwarf Cichlids.

By profession, Ted is a high school science teacher, but is currently a full-time stay-at-home father.

Ted is extremely active in the organized hobby. He is on the ACA Board of Trustees. He also served as Chairman as the Milwaukee Aquarium Society hosted last years ACA convention, holding things together when a tornado passed above the convention hotel, disrupting Thursday’s activities. (My wife saw it just before we arrived!) In addition, he is on the boards of the MAS and the Madison Area Aquatic Hobbyists.

On-line, Ted manages two websites. http://www.tedsfishroom.com is his personal blog, and http://www.apistogramma.com is a community site dedicated to dwarf Cichlids.

Ted shares his knowledge and experience other ways, also. He is a prolific speaker, currently having eight presentations that he is prepared to give. He is also a writer and photographer, whose works are frequently published by national aquarium periodicals. Readers of TFH are familiar with his mind-boggling fish breeding competition with Mike Helwig. Currently in TFH, he participates in a tag-team with Eric Hanneman, as they take turns writing the “Cichlid World” column.

Here, Ted describes the presentation he’ll be giving us: