I need help with my cichlids

Discussion about cichlids from Lake Malawi

Moderator: Troy

69z28lover

I need help with my cichlids

Post by 69z28lover » Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:46 pm

I am new to Cichlids. I am desperate for some advice. I have been watching YouTube and reading anything I can about them on the internet.
I have a 150 Gallon Tank, It has been set up for roughly 6 months. I decided to do a cichlid tank. I ordered 30 baby/juvenile cichlid (African Cichlids)online from Live Fish Direct. I have also bought a few from PetSmart.
I have had them for 2 months now, and recently woke up to a fish stuck to my filter. Another one hiding on the bottom Not eating. I keep my tank Very clean. I test the water once a week. N02 is 0 , N03 is close to 0, PH is 7.5, KH is 40, GH is 60.
I do 50% water changes every 4 to 5 days. My cichlids don't have any systems, no bloat, no puffed eyes, no bulging scales, no spots, no fungus, their fins are pretty, no fraying, no missing chunks, NOTHING.. . For the life of me cant see anything wrong with them. The first one that died wouldn't eat and was skinny.. So would I call that "wasting away"??. Then when I lost a 2nd fish I really started taking notice on who wasn't eating. I now have 2 more fish hiding and not eating. There is very little aggression in the tank. I think because they are all between 1.5-2.5 inches in size and lots of hiding spots.. I treated with Clout yesterday. I know that was probably not the right thing, but I couldn't find any reason they were starting to die and I wanted to save the remaining fish.. Question, do I keep treating with Clout, or just do 1 dose.
I have NOT fed my fish since I treated. How many days do I withhold food from them? One article I found said Treat with 1 tablet clout per 10 gallons on day 1, then on day 2, do a half dose.. Day 3 nothing. Day 4 , 50% water change and full dose. Day 5 50% change NO dose. End of treatment. Does that sound right?