New to cichlids

Discussion on general cichlid care and issues. ID cichlids you don't know the origin of. Mixed tank questions.

Moderators: Troy, Ken Boorman

klewis

New to cichlids

Post by klewis » Sat Nov 13, 2004 11:01 am

Hi, i am new to fish keeping and would appreciate any info. on dwarf cichlids. I have a 25 imp.gal tank. Is this big enough and what type and quantity of fish could i keep in it. Any other info. would be appreciated ie water quality, temp. substrate, plants etc.

Thanks in advance Keith Lewis

Willy

New fishtank

Post by Willy » Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:56 am

:D Hello there,
My name is Willy Bijker from Zwolle,Holland.
I've got 30 years experience with keeping and breeding fish,so i think i can answer all your questions on this issue.
Before i need some info from you.
A gallon is 4.29 liters or no?,Something between 100 and 120 liters?
Yes i know now,exactly 107,25 liters.
How are the exact sizes of your tank?This is important for the kind of fish you want to keep!
What kind of fish do you want to keep exactly?
When i know more,i can give you exact answers,ok?
Just e-mail me back and i help you out.
It is very good from you to first ask for info before you do anything before you make any mistakes that would give you the wrong idea about this hobby.
I hear from you then,Willy.
Willy,Male,Holland,Dwarfs,West-Africa,Central-Amerika,South-America,Tanganjika,Author of articles,Give lectures to.

Lisachromis
Administrator

Post by Lisachromis » Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:06 pm

A 25g is pretty decent for dwarfs. Some good choices are Apistogramma sp., Nannacara sp, or you can go the way of African dwarfs and try shelldwellers from Lake Tanganyika.

For Willy.

To figure out his tank for you in litres, you must multiply his size by .8 which gets you to US gallons (sorry, I usually only deal in US gallons!),
1 US gallon is the same as 3.7853 litres. So....

25 Imp gallons X .8 = 20 US gallons X 3.7853 = 75.706 litres

Willy

New tank