ID Me Please

Discussion on general cichlid care and issues. ID cichlids you don't know the origin of. Mixed tank questions.

Moderators: Troy, Ken Boorman

ut guy

ID Me Please

Post by ut guy » Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:07 pm

Hello,

Well i am new to this whole fish thing and recently purchased a 10 gallon tank and accessories off of craigslist. To my surprise the lady threw in her fish. However she was not able to give me any clue to what kind of fish it was. After doing a little research i think it might be a Cichlid, but i am unsure. And i have no idea what kind of Cichlid it is, so i was hoping you guys can help.

Here is an image

Also any care adivce would be great. The tank did not come with a heater, just a pump and filter, but since i think it is a tropical fish i think i need one (right?). Any other tips would be great.

Thanks

ut guy

Post by ut guy » Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:16 pm

Oh, sorry for the double post, but i also wanted to know of there are any cheap(im a college student on a tight budget) tank mates that i could add. Something small since i would not want to overcrowd the tank. The fish in the picture above is about 2 inchs btw.

Thanks

MatsP

Post by MatsP » Thu Oct 05, 2006 5:25 am

The above fish is a Parrot Cichlid - a man-made hybrid of two geographically separated species of fish - they are available in all sorts of colours (including ones that have been "painted" (dyed) to have stripes or patterns on them - obviously only carried by the less ethical of fish-shops).

They are not overly aggressive, so you can keep it with mos things that are sufficently large to not be a "snack" and that aren't in themselves too agressive.

--
Mats

Tom Williams

Post by Tom Williams » Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:00 am