Sharing my 125 gallon wild combinations and setup.

Discussion on general cichlid care and issues. ID cichlids you don't know the origin of. Mixed tank questions.

Moderators: Troy, Ken Boorman

Usmarksman91

Sharing my 125 gallon wild combinations and setup.

Post by Usmarksman91 » Sun Dec 01, 2013 3:32 am

Hey all! Just joined as you can see, this is the general cichlid sub forum so I thought this would be a good place to share my tank and it's inhabitants. I am a carpenter, but as a side business I install and maintain reef tanks and build massive filtration systems custom. I've been a cichlid guy since I was a kid. I am going to share my stock list because I think it will bend some people's minds because anything really is possible. First, I have a 125 gallon standard tank 72" long. My filtration is currently a rena xp4 and eheim 2217. The canisters are temporary I am having the tank drilled and doing a wicked 1500 gph bead filtration system, although they do get the job done pretty well and I have a great combination of media in them. Now one thing that is major in having wild combinations with any type of aggressive fish which a lot of you know is decorations in the tank. I am an all natural type of guy, I have approximately 225 pounds of natural south seas rock in there, caves, the obvious wall, and lots of areas that break line of sight. One problem with using porous rock like that in a regular tank is they trap a hell of a lot of detritus, but I keep it all clean and as long as anyone else does you won't see any issues, only benefits. I will post again tomorrow I am running out of time but a quick list of my fish would be, a red fin botia, red tail shark, tiger oscar, convict, a green spotted puffer fish, 2 jewels, a boulengochromis ("tanganykian giant") I may have wrote that completely wrong correct me if anyone know what fish I'm talking about, a male auratus, female auratus, 4 julidochromis dickfeldi, one tropheus (black with yellow stripe, the second pa