Agression between a pair of Laetacara curviceps

Discussions on cichlid behaviour in nature & captivity.

Moderator: Troy

Haddock

Agression between a pair of Laetacara curviceps

Post by Haddock » Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:52 am

Hi everyone. I am new to the forum so I hope no-one minds that I'm not an expert cichlid keeper!

I have a 50 gallon planted tank with a mixture of tetras and harlequins, two gourami, 3 corys and a multipunctatis syno catfish.

Two weeks ago I added a pair of Laetacara curviceps, a male and female I think. For the first week they were inseparable and were displaying what I presumed to be courtship behaivior to each other - lots of head shaking and rubbing against each other. This last week has been very different - for about three days they were very agressive to each other and have ripped each others tails to bits. Now they stay at opposite ends of the tank. The female keps trying to approach the male but he swims off fast.

Does anyone know if this is normal? Should I try and separate them? Do you think they will make up with each other?

Thanks.

Don Hiatt
CichlidRoom Expert

Post by Don Hiatt » Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:36 am

Hi Haddock,
Do you have any hiding places for your cichlids? The other fish may stress your cichlids if they do not feel secure with a territory to defend.
This will cause a pair of fish to act this way.

Haddock

Post by Haddock » Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:11 am

Thanks for your reply.
The tank is quite heavily planted with a huge piece of arched bogwood and two areas of rocks so there are quite a few hiding places but maybe I should put in a couple of caves?
The fish seem to have stopped fighting but have established themselves at opposite ends of the tank.

I have reduced the temp from 26 to 23 degrees celcius to see if that helps too.

Don Hiatt
CichlidRoom Expert

Post by Don Hiatt » Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:24 am