Sumps for Newbies

Discussion about cichlid tank filtration

Moderator: Ken Boorman

Gurn Blanston

Sumps for Newbies

Post by Gurn Blanston » Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:14 am

OK, well I'm not really a newbie, just been away for a long time and discovering how things have changed since I was last in the hobby.

One of the things that intrigues me most is the sump filter. I had four 70', a 125 and six 55's back in the 1970's and early '80's, and filtration then was either a big Eheim canister or else a Supreme with 4-6 lift tubes that my mbuna loved to knock around until they lost their siphon.

I have been reading as much as I can find about sumps because it is easy to see that they are comparatively superior and seem to be easy to build and maintain. However, one big problem for me is that every article I've found so far, and even the Q&A here, presupposes a rather large amount of the basics. I'm NOT talking about filter media here, some things never change, and I know that issue inside out. What I'm talking about are the physical principles involved. Questions that occur are like these:

Must the sump be lower than the tank?
What about a power outage? Is my tank water going to totally end up on the floor?
If I am using glass tanks and am loathe to drill, how best to set up the tank outlet/sump inlet?

Other things of this nature, if you see the road I'm going down here. As I say, everything I've read assumes that you already know all about these things, and I freely admit, I don't. I am, however, a fairly smart fellow, and if you give me just a solid hint I can go a long way with it. :)

Thanks in advance for your effort,

8)
Regards,
Gurn

Lisachromis
Administrator

Re: Sumps for Newbies

Post by Lisachromis » Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:05 am