DIY denitrators

Discussion about cichlid tank filtration

Moderator: Ken Boorman

fishrman

DIY denitrators

Post by fishrman » Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:53 am

Hey Gang:

Jason here, a new person to the group. I have been keeping these little beasties for about 3 years now and I am thoroughly addicted to the hobby. Lately I have been researching commercial and DIY denitrators because of reports of fewer water changes and also because I like the idea of using something more natural to aid in the filtration of my aquarium. I am striving to reach the greatest biological diversity in my tank and this would include types of bacteria (both aerobic and anaerobic). Have any of you experience and words of wisdom regarding these devices? At present I am leaning towards the more economical DIY coil denitrators. I am interested in hearing both successes and failures along with details.

Thanks for your consideration,

Jason (fishrman)

Bas Pels

Re: DIY denitrators

Post by Bas Pels » Mon Aug 18, 2008 7:35 am

Due to the problem of incomplete denitrification, after all, nitrate is not neutralized in 1 step, but in a lot, I never dared trying it

Incomplete denitrification produces toxic products, and I would not want to risk this. Further, before denitrification takres place, the water must be deoxygenized - almost completely. This prohibits any significant waterflow, and thus makes a denitrificator unusably large to have any effect

Finally, nitrates are produced together with phosphates. These phosphates are not neutralized in a denitrificator, and will still have to remouved by waterchanges

So, why bother?

Alternatively, one could try to remouve nitrates and phosphates together. A solution would be by growing plants in a seprerate part of the filter. However, again, this part would have to be rather large to have any affect

fishrman

Post by fishrman » Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:47 pm

Thanks for your reply Bas Pels: